“He killed my baby!” A sad story of how abortion stole a man’s fatherhood.


One of my heroes in the pro-life movement is Jason Jones. I have had the pleasure of meeting this man and besides just being a very gregarious, funny and kind individual, he has made it his mission to further the pro-life cause, mainly in Hollywood through films. At Rock for Life, we love the idea of impacting culture from within. Jason is helping to do just that. (You should check out the movies he has been involved with, if you haven’t already:  Bella, Crescendo, and The Stoning of Soraya M.)

The thing though that made Jason stand out to me is his heart-wrenching story which was posted on Lifesite News today. You can read it here.

I will give you the basic highlights. Jason was in highschool when he found out his girlfriend was pregnant. Instead of making a rash decision, they both began to plan how to take care of this new life that had come into their lives. Jason decided to go into the military to make a better life for his new family.

“So here’s what we decided: I could drop out of high school to join the army (a friend of mine had just done the same). My girlfriend would keep things secret, wear baggy sweaters and take vitamins until I got back from basic training and then we would be together—and I’d take care of all three of us.”

Their new plan seemed to go into motion without any problems. Jason went through basic training and waited for the day he would come back to take care of his girlfriend and their new child.

Then, one day, Jason got a call from his girlfriend. She was almost inconsolable, crying desperately for a reason Jason couldn’t immediately understand. When she did speak, her apologies overflowed,

“…she was crying, as I have never heard a woman cry before. Ever. The only way that I can explain it is that her soul was crying. And she kept saying over and over and over again, “I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry. It wasn’t me.”

Another voice which belonged to Jason’s girlfriend’s father was then heard on the line. He informed Jason that his girlfriend had gotten an abortion.

Jason was hysterical and once he was able to speak coherently, he informed his captain of the crime that had been committed,
“They pulled me into my captain’s office and threw me in a chair. At the sight of me falling apart like this, my captain—a big army ranger—looked pretty broken up himself. I managed to form some sentences: “Sir, call the police, my girlfriend’s father killed my child.” And he asked me to explain what happened. And as I did he looked confused and he said, “Private. Why would I call the police? Don’t you know that abortion is legal?”

Jason had not known that. He hadn’t known someone could get away with murder so easily. And he was demolished by his unjust loss,
“The thought of that baby had kept me going, every grueling day of basic training. My heart was broken.”

When Jason talked to his girlfriend again, he made a promise. A promise he still intends to keep today, ““I promise you, that even if no one else cares about abortion, and if it takes me the rest of my life, I will end abortion for our daughter Jessica” (we knew that our child was a girl because the abortionist said to my girlfriend afterward, “By the way, your baby was a little girl”). And I know now that no one person can defeat the Culture of Death. But I really meant it at seventeen, that I would through my own will end abortion. And I believed it.”

I urge you to read Jason’s complete story. Ever since I have read it, it has imprinted itself onto my heart. We so very rarely hear the stories of the father’s who lose their children to the tragedy of abortion. Lost fatherhood is a terrible, terrible thing. At the very moment of knowing of his child’s existence, Jason’s instinct was to protect and care for his family. Then that family was ripped away from him.

Tis is why we, as compassionate pro-lifers, must make a pledge similar to Jason. We know that one person cannot defeat a culture of death that has killed millions of little lives. But we need to believe that we can end abortion. We need to fight for those lives lost and defend those yet to be taken away.

Jason said it best,
“I know that if all of us commit our lives and resources to this, the greatest human rights cause of our age, we will see full legal protection for the human person, from the child in the womb to the child in her mother’s arms, from the embryo to the elderly, in our lifetime. ”

Fight with us for the preborn, Love those touched by abortion, and we will change lives.

Leave a Reply

