Blindsided


In a good way of course, but the term “blindsided” is the best way I know how to describe how I’ve felt the last 6 days.  It’s terrifying in a way, but I like that our God is unpredictable. That He doesn’t conform to our rules or ways of managing our lives. He beckons us with love and kindness to lose our lives, to take a chance and follow Him, just so we can find what we were truly looking for all along…

I would like to explain to my friends and family exactly what has happened in my life recently, and for many of you, why I wont be around for while. It is extremely sad to leave, but I know God has wonderful things in store.

It began on June 2 as our new roommate Morgan and I talked over breakfast about the beautiful things God was doing through her band and through music as a whole. I began to realize more than ever what an incredible tool music could be in reaching people for Christ. This wasn’t your every day, run of the mill, “oh I’m so happy for you” kind of thing. It was like a fire being lit under me – my hands were shaking, my heart was pounding, I couldn’t explain it. It was the kind of stirring of the Holy Spirit that I had been praying for the last year.

I go out to my driveway and just pour my heart out to God in prayer. I had an urgency, but I wasn’t sure what it was for. I prayed that God would open a door and that He would give me bravery to go where He called me. Now this is definitely bolder than I usually am and I almost didn’t know what to make of it. All I knew was that God was moving.

In the middle of praying I keep thinking about an old friend from Bible College named Kevin. Kevin was very passionate about music, but that’s about all I knew about him. When I really could not get him out of my head I decided to send a little message on Facebook to him, explaining a little bit about what I was thinking.

It wasn’t more than a few seconds after I sent it that he responded, “Call me, ASAP.” And that was the moment the whirlwind began. It turns out Kevin works for Rock for Life, a Christian charity organization that promotes human rights for all people, born and preborn, by engaging our culture through music and education. Basically, Rock for Life tours all around the country with different music festivals and concerts sharing the love of Christ with all sorts of people, as well as the hope God has for any person struggling with an unplanned pregnancy. They aim to equip people with the facts and show how precious human life is at every stage of development as well as hope and healing for people who have had an abortion. As Kevin finishes talking about the ministry of Rock for Life, he mentions one last thing. One of their interns just dropped out for the huge tour they are about to embark on, and they need someone to take their place…my heart skips a beat.

To make a long story short, they offered me the internship and told me the tour kicks off  in Atlanta, Georgia on June 14th. We will be traveling over 6,000 miles all over the United States attending HUGE concerts of anywhere from 10,000 to 50,000 people. We will be traveling to Georgia, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, Illinois, Minnesota, Virginia, New Hampshire, New York, and potentially other states as well as there are still plans up in the air. The opportunities to touch lives for Christ are awesome. After I recovered from the initial shock of it all and after much prayer and wrestling with God, I could not deny that this was His leading. Assured by His love, but terrified nonetheless I began to make the preparations for this leap of faith. I quit my dream job at my favorite coffee shop, and bought a one way ticket to Atlanta, Georgia.

To my friends and family back home, I can’t imagine being where I am now without your love and support. As I embark on this incredible journey the main thing I want to ask of you is that you would support me in prayer. I know there will be discouragement and obstacles, but I am also confident in the amazing power of your prayers for me and this ministry.

Rock for Life is not currently funded by a major foundation so I will have many expenses on the trip as well.  I have calculated that I will need a total of $1,700 this missions trip.  This will cover my food, travel expenses, lodging and any miscellanius items I that may come up.    But I am not asking for the full amount.  I have about $1,100 is savings so as long as I can raise $600 I’ll be able to go for the whole trip!

Rock for Life has set up a ChipIn page here for online, tax-deductible donations if you would like to help me out financially.  You can also call them with a credit card (540-322-3761) or mail them a check or money order.  Make it out to “Rock for Life,”  put “Erin Brecht / Summer Tour 2012” in the memo line and mail to PO Box 333, Locust Grove, VA 22508.

Any and every contribution is extremely helpful for meals, tickets, and other travel expenses that are bound to pop up. At first the money was a scary aspect of this endeavor for me, especially because I no longer have any source of income, but the more I pray about it the more I am assured that God will lead and provide.

So guys, that’s the story. I am so excited to be able to share the amazing things our God does through small and weak vessels like me. I know that I am not strong or brave enough to do this on my own, however God has told me over and over again “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” –2 Corinthians 12:9  And that is my hope for this tour, that His love and power would be channeled through us to a lost and hopeless world…not because we are great, but because He is.

Thank you again for taking the time to read this. Trust me, I am as shocked as you are, but let’s pray and see what the Lord does. I am beyond excited!

All my love,

Erin Brecht

2 Responses to Blindsided

  1. Pingback: And we’re off! « Rock For Life

  2. Victoria / Justice Pirate says:

    amazing story, and I love how God works in our lives and helps people do His will as they pursue Him more!! May you be a light to many people who are confused by the world and in need of point in the direction towards God and His love for Life.

Leave a Reply

