Will Buffy the Vampire Slayer abort her child?


Will Buffy the Vampire Slayer abort her child? Or better yet, slay her child?  (Yes, I shouldn’t have said that)  The latest issue just came out and Buffy confides to Spike, “I am going to have an abortion.”

It’s not a done deal yet, as series writer Andrew Chambliss says, “However it plays out…” which means it could go either way at this point.

I have to admit, I’m totally clueless about Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but as I read this article about this year’s season I’m thinking, what kind of comic is this?!!?  Buffy has a drunken blackout in issue #1, finding out she is pregnant and doesn’t know who the father is in issue #5 and then “dealing with the fallout” (deciding to abort her child) in issue #6.

It looks like, after reading this interview with Chambliss, that this may drag out until the end of this season.

What do you think will happen?  Will Buffy the Vampire Slayer abort her child?  Or will she choose life?

6 Responses to Will Buffy the Vampire Slayer abort her child?

  1. matt says:

    Buffy was never really designed to appeal to Christians or audiences who have remotely high moral standards for their entertainment, so I’d honestly say this is a bit of a non story.

    • Hey Matt, anytime a character of a pop culture series is contemplating abortion it is a news story to those who are pro-life and abortion advocates.

      • matt says:

        Do pro abortion advocates really make points out of things like this? o.0 Not arguing, honest question.

    • KB says:

      With all due respect, Matt you could not not be further from the truth. Buffy jives quite a fair bit with Christian teachings. The entire show’s (and its spinoff, Angel) plot points all deal centrally with morals, good vs. evil, atonement and redemption.

  2. Matt, Yes! It’s just commenting on pop culture. Pro-lifers do it. Abortion advocates do it as well.

  3. Otto Voss says:

    I’m a fan of Buffy and a Comited Christian.. I was really, really disappointed with how this turned out… To the limit that I’m stopping buying this comic.

    Abortion is a fact right now… it’s in the enviroment and a possibility for people. So I get it that the character could consider this. But then, I read an interview sith Scott Allie, the editor of the series, and I understood that this is not just telling stories, it’s promoting ideas. Joss Whedon, buffy creator, it’s an outspoken atheist, naming himself a “humanist” against the “big bully” in the sky. But, I’m fascinated by his stories, I’m sure that he is a man looking for truth that could finally find God as the answers of all his questions.

    The thing here is that, I don’t really undestand the character motivation of doing this… I think is against the nature of the character himself. But, what to do when your beloved comic writer start making propaganda in favor of killing babies, instead of just telling stories? It really, really hurt me.

Leave a Reply

