May – A song about losing your wife during childbirth, by American Idol James Durbin


When I get my Guitar World magazine in the mail I like to go through it, read about new artists and new CD releases and listen to them on my Rhapsody player.  I have an account where I get unlimited downloads – I love it! (<— shameless plug, not a paid endorsement!)

Anyways, I was listening to Memories of a Beautiful Disaster, the debut of James Durbin from American Idol fame, and I came across this song called, May.  It’s not outwardly a “pro-life” song, but it has a message that I wanted you to be aware of.

 

Now, we got older faster then we ever could have seen
Lights when down on graduation then on a wedding ring
We bought our first house and had a baby on the way
But, during birth I got my daughter
Jesus took my May away

In it, the author falls in love and gets married to his high school sweetheart, May.  It seems they got pregnant before marriage but choose to keep their child and get married. They have their first baby, a girl.  During childbirth May dies.  It’s really a sad song.  As his girl grows up she constantly reminds him and everyone around him that she looks and acts like his deceased wife.  Again, it’s really really sad.

I’ve done some research and I can’t seem to find anything on this song other then what I mentioned above.  Is it based on a true story?  If so, who?  Is James Durbin pro-life?  If you find anything, let me know.  Thanks.

You can hear a clip of it here.  You can also read the full lyrics here.

2 Responses to May – A song about losing your wife during childbirth, by American Idol James Durbin

  1. durbfan says:

    James explained what this song is about in an interview with the Hollywood Reporter recently:

    “May”
    “Written by Doug Brown from the band SafetySuit, it’s one of those classic storytelling songs. When you hear Bruce Springsteen or Tom Petty or Bob Dylan, they’re able to sing these songs with the emotion and feeling as if it happened to them, but they’re singing about someone else. They’re telling a story through their heart and through their own eyes. That’s what it is — I’m singing fictionally that I’ve known this girl my whole life, grown up, graduated high school, high school sweethearts, and get married, bought our first house, had a baby on the way… I had to re-sing this song a lot in the studio. I was getting so emotional that we had to keep stopping because I’d literally be bawling.”

    Source: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/idol-worship/american-idol-james-durbin-album-david-cook-265468

    James and his fiancée Heidi have a 2 1/2 year old son named Hunter, so it’s pretty obvious that he and Heidi are pro-life.

  2. ratna says:

    Read this : http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/idol-worship/american-idol-james-durbin-album-david-cook-265468 >>

    “May”
    “Written by Doug Brown from the band SafetySuit, it’s one of those classic storytelling songs. When you hear Bruce Springsteen or Tom Petty or Bob Dylan, they’re able to sing these songs with the emotion and feeling as if it happened to them, but they’re singing about someone else. They’re telling a story through their heart and through their own eyes. That’s what it is — I’m singing fictionally that I’ve known this girl my whole life, grown up, graduated high school, high school sweethearts, and get married, bought our first house, had a baby on the way… I had to re-sing this song a lot in the studio. I was getting so emotional that we had to keep stopping because I’d literally be bawling.”

Leave a Reply

