Is Justin Bieber Pro-Life?


“I really don’t believe in abortion. … It’s like killing a baby?” – Justin Bieber

This is what Entertainment Tonight Online is reporting.  Great news, as Justin Bieber has huge influence on young people.

BUT…

When asked the tough question, “What about Rape?” he stumbles: “Um. Well, I think that’s really sad, but everything happens for a reason. I guess I haven’t been in that position, so I wouldn’t be able to judge that.”

Justin, I thought you said, “It’s like killing a baby?” If it is, which it is that what is the problem?  Why the hesitation?  How come it’s OK to judge other situations but not this one?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m excited that he is making this bold statement in Rolling Stone Magazine, but please let this be a learning experience for us all – when asked about abortion in the cases of rape we must answer a bit more convincing than that.

Abortion is a violent act that takes the life of an innocent human person’s life.  When a mother has conceived in the very unfortunate circumstance of rape that doesn’t change the fact of what abortion is.  Our response remains the same – abortion is a violent act that takes the life of an innocent human person’s life.  No matter what the circumstance of conceiving is we pray for the mother considering abortion, offer her our help and resources and if she was violated we hope and pray that the perpetrator of the heinous crime is caught and brought to justice.

HT to Kortney Blythe on Twitter!

5 Responses to Is Justin Bieber Pro-Life?

  1. Tammy says:

    Erik, Im a 46 year old mom and grandma and I can assure you that I didnt have a well defined opinion about abortion that I could express and defend until I was in my early 20s. JB is a young boy…he comment indicates he is well informed and well directed, going after his hedging so aggressively will only convince him and everyone else that pro-lifers are jerks. Chill. Give him time to develop his sensibilities like everyone else.

    • Tammy, Hi! Yes I wasn’t pro-life or well informed until my mid-20’s. I know many teens who are well informed and can defend the pro-life position well. But I don’t think any of this matters. We should give teens more credit than that I think.

      My intent was not to be a “jerk” nor do I think my post reflected that. Justin Bieber is a public figure who made public comments that millions of young people will read. This blog is commentary, I praised him for what is praise-worthy and I corrected him in the area that needs to be corrected. I really don’t think correcting publically automatically makes me a “jerk.” This is a teaching moment for all of us. I did so politely.

      Regardless, thanks for reading and commenting!

      • Tammy says:

        I dont sell teens short for their capacity to see & speak truth, my kids are well informed and have done a great job of teaching their peers on this subject, but the timing for developing a coherent defensible grasp of the subject matter is individual. While in formation, it is more productive to exhort rather than reprove…especially when you are dealing with a teen, who is (popstar or not) someones child

        He is a public figure because he claimed the capacity to sing pop songs, not set public policy.

        “Justin, I thought you said, “It’s like killing a baby?” If it is, which it is that what is the problem? Why the hesitation? How come it’s OK to judge other situations but not this one?”

        if you spoke to my teen like that I would go ‘momma bear’ on you….keep speaking the truth, but do so in love.

  2. Em says:

    My big brother, who I love very much, is the product of a rape. I’m so glad his mother carried him to term and let him be my brother!

  3. Ada says:

    Rolling Stone did not put out everything that Justin said about abortion. here’s the link.

    http://www.lifenews.com/2011/02/18/rolling-stone-hid-more-extensive-justin-bieber-pro-life-view/

Leave a Reply

